An introduction

Hi everyone,

My name is Kayla and I’m pretty new to all of this… I was just diagnosed in October, though my AVM is a problem that’s been plaguing me all my life. It surfaced when I was very young, showing itself as a red blotch below my left eye. My doctor said it was just a birth mark and not to worry, but it got progressively worse as life went on, and eventually morphed into this bulging and swollen pulsating vein in between my nose and my eye, curling around the eye and trailing down the left side of my face. The redness and puffiness also increased and expanded with the vein.

I saw many doctors and it took months before I finally found a doctor who could give me a diagnosis. Now, I’m having a hard time finding a doctor willing to treat it. As of now, I have an appointment for a consultation with a plastic surgeon next month, and a CAT scan this Friday. =/

I’m not sure where this will all lead to, but I’m hoping for the best. :slight_smile: I am very happy to have found this website, reading all these stories makes me feel less alone in the world and it’s good to have people who understand.

Welcome to the group.

It would seem to me that the Drs would need to fix the source of the AVM before doing plastic surgery, but what do I know…

I wish you well.

Ron, KS

Now that they have finally diagnosed the problem, there’s hope for fixing it! :slight_smile: I never knew that I had an AVM on my brain until it bled…so it’s good that you know how to proceed. Good luck to you…I will keep you in my prayers. And if you have any questions as you go through this, count on the folks on this site to help you out. If any of us have experienced what you’re going through, we always try to help. Welcome to the AVM Survivors family.