AVM and work

Hello all, im new here so hello :)

Im always interested whether people have managed to go back to work, or part time, or no at all. As for myself, im reasonably "lucky" - my AVM was quite early and was in training at the time, eventually i went to college and went for a design job as my speech is not very good. These days im a seniour graphic/web designer, altho its hard and i totally dread phone calls (can never store numbers well) but i get by. What about u?

Richard, I’ll be the first person to respond…I no longer am able to work, since I had my AVM brain bleed in 2007. My brain injury was on my left temporal lob and I have problems with Speech and Language, short term memory loss, ect. All the phone numbers have to be listed to get by that way. I’m so happy that you can work…it does make life more interesting.

Hi Richard,

Just wanted to welcome you to the site.

I have not been able to work for several years now.

Tori

Hello Richard,

I work full time and am planning a Gala to raise money for the Hospital in my area where I am currently being treated. I have had two bleeds but luckily so major side effects.

Thank you for the post!

Melissa

Hi, Richard…welcome to our family! I’ve been out of work about 5-1/2 years…just a few months after being diagnosed. Originally, I took a leave of absence because oall the testing, then the numbing of my left arm became permanent. The headaches came more frequently and more severe; I got so tired that I even fell asleep standing in the shower! I sure do miss the independence of driving and working!

Hi Richard!

I guess you would consider me lucky as well. My AVM is in my leg, from my pelvis down to my toes. While I've been on crutches for almost 20 years...I'm a PhD student and am hopeful to be defending this summer. Went to college and grad school.

hi richard,