AVM connection with other disorders?

Sorry if this seems silly. I am new to the whole AVM thing. This is a question I will ask the neurologist when I see him (soon), but wanted to ask others as well:

Is there any connection between AVM’s and other brain disorders? For example, I have a circadean rhythm disorder called delayed sleep phase syndrome. The AVM that was just found is in my frontal lobe, right side.

I do hear rushing sounds often when I lay down (like at bed); not sure if this is a contributing problem to the sleep factor. I’m curious if increased/decreased blood flow to parts of the brain could affect the normal sleep rhythm.

what is delayed sleep syndrome like ?

Kiera said:

pauline horsley said:
what is delayed sleep syndrome like ?

DSP is where sleep onset is chronically later than a normal person's. Most people feel tired and are able to go to sleep between 10pm and 12am. Sleep onset usually takes 20-40min (more than that is considered insomnia). With DSPS I can't fall asleep till more like 3am. Everynight. Regardless of how much sleep I've had (even staying up for 1-2 days straight). Once a person with DSPS falls asleep it's usually a good 8hr, solid sleep...they just do it later.

Here is a link on DSPS:
http://www.webmd.com/sleep-disorders/guide/circadian-rhythm-disorde...
I don't think this article mentions it, but i have met/read about people with brain disorders/head trauma that have developed DSPS.

And then I found this about strokes and sleep:
http://www.ninds.nih.gov/disorders/brain_basics/understanding_sleep...

So it's made me wonder.

WOW …thank you Kiera.

kiera,
i am not fully sure of the answer to that question…but it wouldn’t surprise me if it related…i can tell you the noise you here is the blood pumping through the avm…i could always here a noise like a washing machine in my head whenever i layed down…since the avm has been removed i have never heard it again…please let us know the answer when you talk with the neuro