Brain AVM 4-5 months after Gamma Knife Treatment

Hello everyone. My wife had her Gamma Knife treatment 4-5 months ago now and yesterday she woke up in the early morning to go to work and noticed her right hand was weak ans the needle feeling. She exercised her rright hand with her putty and her strength came back,somewhat. This morning her hand again went very weak where it was hard to lift a pillow. called the doctor and the on called doctor says to either go to ER or wait until nine to talk to our doctor.

Has anyone have this type of symptoms after having brain Gamma Knife treatment. Thanks in advance.

Andy

Yes. Gamma becomes more active as time goes on. Im not a doctor but it sounds like a partial seizure to me. Also could indicate swelling. Get it checked soon.

My Dr. say to wait until more symptoms occur, The last time my wife had her right arm with needles and numb they gave some meds of steroids to take for a week for swelling. It works but it made her appetite grow too.
I sure hope the side effects don’t keep showing up. It’s stressful
Thanks for the reply.

My AVM is in the left partial frontal lobe. Since gamma (9 weeks) I have had frequent focal/ partial seizures in my mouth and right hand. My advice is to document anything strange thats happening on the right side. Some side effects may seem unremarkable but they all add up. Hope she feels better soon.

I'm back again and have been away for a while now. Since then my wife had two events of tingling in her right arm. She had her Gamma Knife in Apr of this year and had events in her right arm three times now. One in June, Oct, and last night. This last time Right hand tingling and heavy right chest feeling. She is on Keppra and dilantin but the Doctor is weaning her off Dilantin for more Keppra.

I'm wondering if this is a common side effects of the Gamma knife treatment as the AVM shrinks. Anyone Please.