Fatigue

How do people manage fatigue? Are you aware of your symptoms, and if so, what are they? i had an avm and still get tired and have mood swings. Is this familiar?

thanks

My son gets tired all the time. I understand that this is normal. I have heard it is part of the healing process. He also has mood swings. This can be controlled with medication. I dont have a lot of knowledge about avm’s. It touched my family about 16 months ago and I am still learning.

My husband had his surgery almost a year ago, and he gets tired very easily. He tried going
back to work, but it was way too much. Effexor helps the mood swings.

I am also very tired not sure if its the avm or the seizure meds or both combined, but it sucks. I struggle to get out of bed. Rather i have slept 3 hours or 12. I also have mood swings and am on no meds for it but i might look into some. Didn’t realize there was anything for them. Good luck

It’s definitely familiar! I have learned to overcome the mood swings, but the fatigue kills me sometimes! I had returned to school after my AVM, but I needed much more sleep than any other high school student! It kind of effected my social life. But I just learned to deal with it. In college, I didn’t force myself to stay awake and slept extra when I needed it. Now, as an adult in the work force, I am still often tired. I count down to weekends sometimes! But having 2 jobs (instead of THREE) has helped me tremendously! Just take it one day at a time! Don’t force yourself to do things, make sure you are rested… Sometimes, just laying with my eyes closed while listening to music helped me rest (or at least convince myself I was rested!)… Don’t plan too many activities. Make sure you have plenty of down-time and time to rest and relax. Wee need it more than the others!!!