Has anyone had to deal with ADA or employment discrimination before?

I hope no one has dealt with workplace discrimination, but am also hoping someone might have some helpful information.
Recently I was laid off and the reason I was given was based primarily on my loss of driving privlidges due to seizures. Please note, driving is not a necessary function of my job and my managers were made aware of my situation from the get-go. I am fairly certain this goes against the ADA regulations, but am drowning in a sea of legal-ese trying to figure out what my options are. Obviously, since I’m laid off and not making money now, I don’t have the cash to just go out and hire lawyers.
Anyone dealt with this before?

If driving is NOT a necessary part of your job, then I’m certain this is against ADA. I am not an HR expert, but I have a girlfriend who just got her Masters in it. I’m going to email her and find out if she has some info or advice or something to help you out with this.
Shalon

Thanks so much for checking it out! I talked to our HR gal, but she didn’t really know. We both had the ‘that’s not right’ feeling from it though.

ok- just got some advice from an HR Director. If in fact the reason they let you go was driving and this is NOT a necessary part of your job, then it IS a violation of ADA. Now I have no idea what your situation is or what else may have been valid or not valid reasons to let you go, but the company you work for can’t use “driving” as a reason if it really is not the reason. If they had let you go for performance issues or cause they were reducing the workforce or other things, or becuase you had attendance problems (which “might” be related to your not driving but they would need to say “attendance”) then you may not have a strong case. But if they did SPECIFY driving, then you should be able to fight it.