Radiation--MR angiography anyone?

Hi there,

Has anyone had MRI angiography? It has no radiation, and I’m wondering why I’m booked for the much riskier CT angiography instead.

Take care

Hi - I have had an angiogram, but thats riskier than the CT - havent heard of the MRI angiography - angio usually means chest or plural space…??

Vera
Didn’t have much time this morning check this site out hope it helps.
http://www.ct-angiogram.com/The_Difference_between_CT_Angiogram_and_MR_Angiogram_63.htm
Welcome to the site ! cya Gordon

I had a CT angiogram. I’m not sure why they choose CT angiographies over MRI angiographies. MAYBE they show a better picture. I’m not a medical professional at all so I really have no idea haha. This is just a guess.
Alyssa

Hi Guys,

So I asked my neurologist about MRI angiography, and he said the resolution just isn’t good enough. As a result, we AVM sufferers will be getting some radiation from CT scans.

Take care,

Vera

I understand from the discussion that CT Angio gives better results. Is it a substitute for the real angiography, which is invasive and has its own associated risks? I was told that a real angio will be done 2-3 years after radiation to confirm if the AVM is completely obliterated. If CT Angio can substitute real Angio, it might be worth taking the radiation to avoid the risks of real angio!

My son has only had 2 CT scans and that was for 2 emergency visits at our local hospital- one when he had his first seizure and then when had another seizure from brain swelling.
EVERY time our neuro people check his AVM, they only do MRI or MRA’s.

As soon as they confirmed my son’s AVM on the MRI, they booked him for an angiogram.
I’m a bit confused by this. Will look into it a bit more.