Summer!

Does anybody else have trouble with the heat and humidity of summer?

My first summer after my AVM I froze but now I’m getting heat headaches and just feel sluggish… :frowning:

As an above knee amputee (and AVM-Rupture Survivor)I haven’t found that the heat (because of sweating) or the cold (because of the cold) is any better or worse, I didn’t have an issue with walking before, I wear a prosthetic, the problem is with where the bleed happened. My balance is off because of the injury, but anyway I guess the heat could bother me a bit more, my wife says I sweat more when I’m in the heat and at times it effects my blood pressure,I get some swelling in my leg (adema) “sometimes”

(this is my first time writing on the site)
Chuck

I have a hard time now with the heat. I loved the heat before surgery but now I have a difficult time with it.

Jennifer

i don’t like the cold because i cant manuver very well and i’ve always liked the heat,but it don’t like me.

Can’t say the heat really bothers me…I played 36 holes of golf on Sunday in 105F temperatures:) No headaches, just stayed hydrated. -GK

Spring & Summer are my favorite seasons, yet I don’t tolerate the heat well since my surgeries, so will tend to yardwork & any outdoor activities earlier in the day when it’s cooler.
Stay cool! :slight_smile:
Patti

Argh. Since getting my SCI from the AVM rupture I can barely tolerate the heat. Summer used to be my favorite time of year, but now I dread it every year. It doesn’t take being in the heat or sun for very long for me to be overcome by symptoms of heat exhaustion, or even heatstroke.

It’s fairly common for people with SCI from the T-8 level or higher for their bodies to no longer regulate body temperature properly.