Tiny AVM?

Hi I am new to this. I was told I have a “tiny AVM” in my brain. I am having an angiogram tomorrow to find out more. I have been having migraines for years and seizures for the past few months (that’s why I had the MRI). Does the fact that it’s “tiny” mean it’s not dangerous? The doctors are being so vague with me. I know you are not doctors. I would just like to have an idea of what it means.

Hi Samantha,

Neurologists are vague by nature, it’s very hard to get a simple answer because the brain is the most complicated organ and everyone is truly wired differently. The good news is that the cerebral angiogram will provide a much better and detailed picture of the arteries/veins in your brain so hopefully you’ll get more definitive information. I find it’s good to write out your questions ahead of time on a notepad,bring it w/ you to take notes and to make sure your questions are all answered. If at all possible, bring someone with you that is good with complicated stuff since the patient finds it hard to ‘take it in’ and the person with you can make sure you get the info right. As to tiny, both the size and location are very important. in general, surely ‘tiny’ is a good sign, some can be large and complicated, which likely makes them more difficult to treat. The size of the AVM may not have little to do with how ‘dangerous’ it is. I’m no doctor, but I suspect you’ll get much better information when the angiogram is done.

Here’s the mayo clinic info on AVMs (I like they’re info since it’s written for ‘real people’). If you notice their pictue of an AVM it’s a large one, mine looked pretty tiny by comparison Best of luck to you, it may be vey scary right now, but it is great to have caught it now. Probably doesn’t feel like it, but my first real symptom was a stroke, which is a bad way to find out you’ve got an AVM, but also fairly common. take care & keep strong.