Avm in my right hand

Hello, I had my first direct stick embolization with dr. Rosen at Lenox Hill Hospital in April. After the first time there was still residual malformation left and my hand still swelled up and caused alot pain. In October I had my second procedure done and have few blood clots that I believe expected to block off circulation in the are. It is very painful and have my follow up next week. It’s honestly very frustrating because im a nurse and even the doctor I work for has never heard of the procedure or any of this and there is very limited information. My job is very hands on and it is really upsetting not being able to use my hand with my job fully. Im becoming very depressed especially trying go back to school and keep having these procedures holding me back. im only in my early 20s and both my parents were diagnosed with cancer this year and I was just told this will be a lifelong process. I just need some encouragement. Also I have a genetic counselor appointment next week as well to get more information. Does anyone know what can be causing these or they can test for to give me some answers.

Hi @Shannonmarie

I’m sorry you are going through all of this. Whenever you need to talk to someone, feel free to ask here. I hope some of the @Extremity group will have useful thoughts to share as well.

In terms of the genetic counselling, I assume the hospital are wanting to check out that you do or don’t have some underlying genetic thing that is driving your AVM. My understanding of it is that it will help them to decide whether some treatments are safe / appropriate for you. I think there are conditions such as Klippel Trenaunay and Parkes Weber syndrome that can be the underlying cause for an extremity AVM, so I assume they want to rule those out.