Disablity from an AVM

I had a bleed on July 28 2014 of an AVM I knew nothing about, in the right basil ganglia. I have residual loss of feeling and control of my left side, (mainly my arm and hand), my next MRI is in November.
My doctor wants to look at me the first week in November. But he doesn't think that any intervention will result in a reduction of any future bleeds. (Gamma knife, catheter to block the branch with glue , or invasive surgery.)
I am a Automation controls engineer, I build automated plants and machinery. With the aforementioned condition, I don't feel confident I can do my job satisfactorily and not exacerbate my condition. My Doctor has told me he doesn't want me to drive , (seizure risk)and my employer seems to feel that putting me into the field is a risk.
I've worked all my life and never thought that I would be, “Disabled” in my life time. Now I'm faced with the prospect of no employment, I”m very apprehensive as to what my future holds.
I need some advice on how to petition for disability benefits.

1 Like

The very first thing I would recommend it finding a lawyer who specializes in Social Security Disability. They don't get paid unless you win benefits and then there is a cap on how much they can receive. They take care of getting your medical records, the paperwork to Social Security, etc. Usually you are denied the first time. In that case your lawyer will handle the appeal. I was denied twice and was awaiting my date before a judge when my lawyer called to say I'd finally been approved. It was nearly two years of filing and appeals. I didn't hire a lawyer at first, only after I'd been denied the first time. I think had I hired one in the beginning it would have been a much smoother process. I know how hard it is to face the prospect of not working. I worked from the time I was 15 until the day of my bleed. It's an adjustment but you'll be okay. You just have to focus on the things you can still do! Best of luck.