Elmarner - new member

Hello i am 14 and have just been told I have avm in my brain. I am very new to the whole idea of avm and have no idea what is going on with me. If anyone could give any support whatsoever or any infomation I would be great full thanks

1 Like

Hello, Ellie

My name is Richard. I live in Leicestershire and I’m going through the same process as you. It’s great that you’ve found this website but I really recommend you get your parents or carers to do the research rather than working on your own.

It very much depends on the specifics of your AVM, where it is and what effects it is having for you as to what will happen and whether that will be quick or very slow. So I wouldn’t go reading up about other people’s AVMs as what they had may not be relevant to you. Some things can be very scary and I don’t think you should worry about it. You need the doctors to tell you about your AVM and what treatment you’ll have (if any – not everyone’s AVM needs to be treated) before you go looking round this site.

OK?

Promise me to talk to your family about this, not do it alone.

Best wishes,

Richard

Hey Elmarner,

Sorry to hear this! Hopefully being on this site can help. What have the docs told you so far? How did they find out that something wasn’t right?
Where abouts are you located?

Hi Richard,
Thanks for your reply, I’m very new and I don’t know much about my condition but I am having a few tests soon which will hopefully bring some more insight into what routes we can take for treatment.
I haven’t really spoken to my family about it as it’s not an easy thing to bring up but I hope speak to them about it soon
Thank you for responding I am extremely grateful for your advise

Hi Kirsty
I really don’t know much, we are aware of it because of an MRI scan due to my eye being slightly puffy, I am having an angiogram in a few days which will tell me a bit more in the Cardiff children’s hospital in Wales.

Ellie