Gamma knife recovery

Hi there. I am a 37 yo married mom of 3. I was recently diagnosed with a left frontal lobe avm with a nidal annuerysm. They found this after a work up for a few near fainting episodes. I am a nurse also so I am not a great patient. I am getting gamma knife radiation this Thursday. My kids have a school play the next day and then another event on Saturday. Just wondering how you felt after this procedure and if there are any contraindications a few days after the procedure. Thank you in advance.

Hello I am sure being a nurse you know how its done,its a day surgery you will be okey to go home but it is always good to rest.I was kept overnight at the hospital because I had a seizure and that’s how i was diagnosed.You can have a headache by having that head structure on the whole day. What I basically mean is,it wornt be like a normal day that we can get up and get on like normal day. Yow need to rest. Go for your kids concert if you can but rest well all other times.I had a very mild seizure a day aftter the doctor said things like that could happen as reactions to radiation. Basically rest is my advice.Wishing you all the best.

Hi and welcome! I had gamma knife in November 2016, my AVM was discovered due to a bleed. I could feel where the frame was attached for a few days but I would have been able to go to my kids play if on, but you will need to be careful to get good rest. I know how a nurse takes that type of advice as I’m married to a nurse! I went in for 6:00 and was home y 1:00 pm. Everything went smooth for me. Again welcome and take care, John.

Thank you. I will rest. Hope you are doing well.